2013 MOSAIC Award Winners Named

Two CEOs of major companies, an educator and pioneer for women’s rights in Muslim countries, a Paralympic champion and a physician searching for a cure for macular degeneration. These five individuals have made their mark in our community and will be recognized for their accomplishments at the eighth annual MOSAIC Awards to be held on Thursday, May 30, 2013 at The Henry Clay.

This year’s honorees are Paul Diaz, Dr. Riffat Hassan, Dennis Ogbe, Vidya Ravichandran and Dr. Shlomit Schaal.

This fundraising event, which benefits Jewish Family & Career Services, honors immigrants and refugees who have made a significant contribution in their profession and in our community.

JFCS was founded to assist newcomers to Louisville and this event honors its original mission.

The cocktail reception will start at 5 p.m. and will feature a showcase of new micro-businesses that have received training and financial assistance from the JFCS Navigate Enterprise Center. The showcase will be located in the first-floor lobby of The Henry Clay.“Many new businesses only have a small budget for marketing,” comments Judy Freundlich Tiell, JFCS executive director. “By introducing our businesses to the 300-400 people attending the MOSAIC Awards, we hope to generate interest in the products and services they provide and create new clients for them.”

Paul Diaz – Cuban Descent
CEO – Kindred Healthcare, a Fortune 500 company with more than 2,200 locations across the U.S.; one of the 100 most influential people in heathcare; Board of Directors, DaVita; Board of Visitors, Georgetown University Law Center; member – Business Roundtable & Wall Street Journal CEO Council; established the Paul J. Diaz Scholarship Fund at Georgetown University; involved in the initiative for Hispanic Scouting.

Riffat Hassan, Ph.D – Pakistan
Dr. Riffat Hassan is a professor emerita of the University of Louisville. She was inducted into the U of L College of Arts & Sciences Hall of Honor; received of the Kennedy Center/Sondheim Inspirational Teacher Award; is a prolific author and one of the pioneers in inter-religious dialogue and feminist theology; and a founder of the International Network for the Rights of Female Victims of Violence in Pakistan.

Dennis Ogbe – Nigeria

Dennis Ogbe is a global community relations specialist with Brown-Forman. He is an international Paralympic champion, both from his home country and the U.S.; and holds the American records in discus and shot put. He’s also an international advocate and spokesperson for the eradication of polio throughout the world.

Vidya Ravichandran – India
Vidya Ravichandran is president of GlowTouch Technologies, a global IT powerhouse that provides turnkey technology and outsourcing solutions to small, medium and enterprise-sized businesses nationwide. Through her leadership, GlowTouch is on the INC 500 list of America’s fastest growing private companies and Business First’s Fast 50 local companies and is a leader in corporate social responsibility and philanthropy. She is a board member of GT Foundation, GLIP and Walden School.

Shlomit Schaal, M.D., Ph.D. – Israel

Dr. Shlomit Schaal is an associate professor of ophthalmology at the University of Louisville. A vetreo-retinal specialist, she serves as the director of the Diabetic Retinopathy Service and is involved in cutting-edge research in ocular biochemistry and molecular biology relating to macular degeneration and diabetes retinopathy. She is also a competitive swimmer and serves on the Sports Medicine and Science Committee of the U.S. Masters Swimming Educational Program.

Jewish Hospital HealthCare Services is the Title Sponsor and WLKY 32 is the media sponsor, with Rick Van Hoose acting as the Master of Ceremonies. Papercone Corporation Chairman and CEO Brooks Bower is this year’s Honorary Chairman and is a new major sponsor. Sandi Friedson is the chair of the event committee.

Tickets to the event are $125/person and table sponsorships begin at $1,500. For reservations, contact Beverly Bromley, JFCS Director of Development, at 502.452.6341, ext. 223 or bbromley@jfcslouisville.org.


  1. Pingback: Dennis named 2013 Mosaic Award Winner - Dennis Ogbe - Paralympian - Official Site

Leave a Reply