Join the Celebration!

Picture this: One of the highest profile events staged in the Jewish community each year – and you’re invited. You can even sit on the first row if you’d like and your friends and family can come along too. In fact, everyone is invited to the Jewish Community of Louisville’s Annual Meeting on Sunday, September 19, 6:30 p.m. at the Jewish Community Center. (Please note changed venue.)


Save the date and get your reservation in early to maintain your front-row seating advantage. Meet and greet the JCL’s new president/CEO Stu Silberman, who will be there to meet and greet with his wife, Alison. Champagne, hors d’oeuvres will be served during what promises to be the best show in town!

“I am really excited to be chairing this year’s JCL Annual Meeting,” said Dr. Karen Abrams. “We have lots to celebrate. During the evening we will be introducing our new CEO, showcasing a wonderful group of award winners and presenting a program for the community that focuses on our Jewish journey going forward. The JCC is up and running and will be all dressed up for the occasion.” She promises some surprises too and states this won’t be a “typical” annual meeting!

Picture this: Oscar night in the Jewish community! The star-studded cast of winners will feature Ottenheimer Award winner, Louisville Metro Police Chief Robert White; Joseph J. Kaplan Young Leadership Award winner Dr. Julie Ellis; Lewis W. Cole Memorial Young Leadership Award winnerDr. Jeff Tuvlin; Arthur S. Kling Award winners Dotty Battoe and Doug Gordon; Elsie P. Judah Award winner Esther Zegart and Ronald and Marie Abrams Volunteer of the Year Award winner Fred Gross.

As if all that were not enough, the show will continue with Ellen Faye Garmon Award winner Jacob Spielberg; Stacy Marks Nisenbaum Award winners Hayley Grossman and Talia Wagner; Stuart Pressma Student Leadership Award winners Sam Cohen, Max Oppenheimer and Nathan Spielberg, and Joseph Fink Award winner Sarah Ensign.

Picture this: Witness history being made as Craig Greenberg, chair of the JCL Nominating Committee, announces the slate of candidates for Board officer and director positions for 2010-2011. They include: David N. Klein, board chair; Douglas Gordon and Jeffrey Tuvlin, vice board chairs; and Karen Abrams, secretary. Allan Latts, JCL board treasurer, will remain in his current position until a replacement has been announced.

Board nominees for two-year terms include Stuart Goldberg and Alex Rosenberg. Nominees for three-year terms include: Greg Davidoff, Dr. Julie Ellis; Angeline Golden; David Kaplan; Kate Latts; Helene Kramer Longton; Leon Wahba and William Yarmuth. A full list of JCL Board members can be found below.

For reservations and information about the Annual Meeting, please call Paula at 451-8840 or email RSVP online by clicking here.



Report of the Nominating Committee Jewish Community of Louisville, Inc.

JCL Board Slate Announced

Craig Greenberg, chair of the Nominating Committee of the Jewish Community of Louisville, Inc., announced the following slates for election at the Annual Meeting of the Jewish Community of Louisville, to be held September 19, 2010 at 6:30 p.m. at Standard Country Club.

Nominated to serve as officers of the Board for 2010-2011

David N. Klein, Board Chair
Douglas Gordon, Vice Board Chair
Jeffrey Tuvlin, M.D., Vice Board Chair
Karen Abrams, M.D., Secretary

Nominated for terms on the 2010-2011 Board of Directors

Nominated for a 2-Year Term
Stuart Goldberg
Alex Rosenberg

Nominated for a 3-Year Term
Greg Davidoff
Julie Ellis, M.D.
Angeline Golden
David Kaplan
Kate Latts
Helene Kramer Longton
Leon Wahba
William Yarmuth

Remaining on the Board
Ronald Abrams*
Madeline Abramson
Lee Benovitz
Sheila Berman
Bruce Blue**
Edwin Cohen*
Terry Cohen, M.D.
Myrle Davis**
Joseph Fineman*
Harry Geller
Edwin Goldberg*
Ayala Golding
Nathan Goldman**
Toni Goldman*
Jane Goldstein*
Frankye Gordon*
Sandra Hammond*
Joseph Hertzman
Dennis Hummel*
Alfred Joseph III*
Marshall Kahn*
Kathy Karr
Arlene Kaufman*
Howard Klein, DMD*
Jay Klempner
David Kling*
Robert Kohn*
Andrea Koven**
David Leibson*
Shannon Levine
Stephen Linker*
Rabbi Stanley Miles***
Mark Oppenheimer**
Fanny Rose Rosenbaum*
Marcia Roth*
Martin Ruby*
Susan Rudy
Amy Ryan
Robert Sachs*
Marcia Schuster*
Michael Shaikun
Steven Shapiro*
Jill Simon*
Gerald D. Temes, M.D.*
Scott Trager
Edward B. Weinberg*

*Past President
**Congregational Representative
***Board of Rabbis & Cantors Representative

Additional nominations may be submitted by petition to the JCL Secretary with a minimum of 36 signatures by JCL Members in good standing at least ten days prior to the annual meeting.

Leave a Reply