fbpx

JCL Hosts Partnership Meetings

DSC00063This week, the Jewish Community of Louisville hosted the Parnership2Gether Central Consortium Steering Committee meetings. Not only did our community roll out the welcome mat for visitors from the Western Galilee in Israel and representatives from 12 other Consortium communities in the United States, as well as Budapest, Hungary; but our Israeli visitors visited every congregation last Shabbat to connect with Louisvillians and to share personal stories.

The Partnership meetings also provided an opportunity for outreach to Louisville’s medical community. Dr. Arie Eisenman, head of the Medical Emergency Department and Dr. Ohad Ronen, a senior physician/surgeon in the Department of Otolaryngology at Western Galilee Hospital/Galilee Medical Center in Nahariya, spoke with 20 local physicians about emergency preparedness and handling mass casualty events.

Dr. Ronen, who specializes in head and neck cancer surgery, has been pressed into service this year treating Syrians injured in that country’s internal war. The situation presents many unique challenges that Dr. Ronen shared not only with his fellow doctors, but at The Temple on Friday night and with steering committee members on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

To comply with the city's curfew order, the JCC will have a delayed opening on Thursday, September 24, and Friday, September 25 at 7 a.m.

The JCC will be closed for Yom Kippur on Monday, September 28, 2020

Friday, September 18 – Rosh Hashanah
Closes at 6 p.m.*

Saturday, September 19 – Rosh Hashanah
Closed

Sunday, September 20 – Rosh Hashanah
Closed

Monday, September 28 – Yom Kippur
Closed

Friday, October 2 – Sukkot
Closes at 6 p.m.*

Saturday, October 3 – Sukkot
Closed

Friday, October 9 – Shemini Atzeret
Closes at 6 p.m.*

Saturday, October 10 – Shemini Atzeret
Closed 

*Evening Fitness Classes cancelled.