fbpx

UK student missing in Israel following swim

Authorities in Israel are investigating the disappearance of a University of Kentucky sophomore this past weekend.
TeNiya Jones, 19, of Fort Myers, Florida, was last  seen in Tel Aviv where she reportedly went for a midnight swim with friends, according to reports from her hometown paper, the Fort Myers News-Press.
The Islamic studies minor at UK had just returned from a seven-week exchange program in Jordan, and had stopped off in Tel Aviv for the weekend before returning home.
According to the News-Press, Jones’ mother was contacted Saturday night by Bill Bull, vice president for health and safety for the Council on International Educational Exchange, which offered the study abroad program in Jordan. He said Jones had gone for a midnight swim with two others when they were caught in a rip current. All three swam for shore, but Jones was not found when the others emerged from the water.
Police are searching for her.
Bull did not comment further when reached by Community on Monday, except to say that he was awaiting a call from the U.S. embassy in Israel.
“This is an active issue,” he said.

Leave a Reply

To comply with the city's curfew order, the JCC will have a delayed opening on Thursday, September 24, and Friday, September 25 at 7 a.m.

The JCC will be closed for Yom Kippur on Monday, September 28, 2020

Friday, September 18 – Rosh Hashanah
Closes at 6 p.m.*

Saturday, September 19 – Rosh Hashanah
Closed

Sunday, September 20 – Rosh Hashanah
Closed

Monday, September 28 – Yom Kippur
Closed

Friday, October 2 – Sukkot
Closes at 6 p.m.*

Saturday, October 3 – Sukkot
Closed

Friday, October 9 – Shemini Atzeret
Closes at 6 p.m.*

Saturday, October 10 – Shemini Atzeret
Closed 

*Evening Fitness Classes cancelled.