Super Sunday 2009

[Archived from March 6, 2009]

The Louisville Jewish Community has reason to be proud. On Super Sunday, February 22, and during the following week, more than 115 volunteers made calls to members of the Louisville Jewish community. More than 700 individuals responded, pledging approximately $230,000 to the 2009 Federation Annual Campaign. That represents a 8.5 percent increase over the amount pledged by the same people last year. More than 170 people who did not participate in last year’s Campaign made commitments to the 2009 Campaign.

“Our community understands the current economic situation,” said Super Sunday Co-Chair Lisa Kaplin, “and even with it being as severe as it is, they stepped forward and gave to the Federation Campaign.”

“I was moved by the fact that the community as a whole stepped up to make calls and the community responded,” she added.

The volunteers came from all segments of the community. Students from the Kehila middle school program and the High School of Jewish Studies did their part. BBYOers and Hillel students were there, too. Some callers were even past their 90th birthdays. The volunteers were members of all the congregations and affiliated with all the community’s agencies.

Super Sunday Committee Chairs Lisa and Howard Kaplin and their committee Deborah Goldberg, Adam Neft, Laurence, Nibur, Kim Norton, Nikki Russman and Jeff Feinberg put together an exciting day, loaded with prizes and good food.
“Thanks for all your help in making Super Sunday a success,” Howard Kaplin says to the community, the committee and the Federation staff.

The following list of volunteers is as complete as possible; however, there were some additional volunteers, particularly students from Kehila and the High School of Jewish Studies, who did not sign in. The Super Sunday Committee and the Federation thank all who volunteered, including those whose names are do not appear below.

Super Sunday Gallery One

Super Sunday Gallery Two



The Volunteers

Nicholas Abend
Mayor Jerry Abramson
Madeline Abramson
Alayna Altman
Daniel Altman
Blema Baer
Harriett Behr
Max Behr
Liza Belenky
Sheila Berman
Kenneth Berzof
Hannah Brazin
Brandon Carney
Ed Cohen
Rebecca Cohn
Jamie Doctrow
Sarah Ensign
Molly Fine
Barbara Franklin
Alan Friedman
Craig Friedman
Debbie Friedman
Michael Friedman
Barry Friedson
David Fuchs
Linda Fuchs
Harry Geller
Alanna Gilbert
Amy Gilbert
Mallory Glazer
Brian Goldberg
Deborah Goldberg
Jordan Golding
Rebecca Goldman
Steve Goldstein
Douglas Gordon
Harold Gordon
Eli Gould
Hannah Gould
Veta Greenstone
Cal Handmaker
Sarah Harlan
Bailey Haskell
Cantor Sharon Hordes
Courtney Hughes
Sara Jacobs
Brett Kalmes
Jeremy Kaplan
Howard Kaplin
Lisa Kaplin
Kathleen Karr
Jon Klein
Laura Klein
Laura Koby
Sofya Kuznetsova
Kate Latts
Aaron Leibson
Alan Leibson
Carol Leibson
Shannon Levine
Arnold Levitz
Ray Eva Lipetz
Jonathan Lustig
Felix Lyalin
Leonid Madorsky
John Marshall
Richard Michelson
Bruce Miller
Robin Miller
Gail Levine Moore
Adam Neft
Laurence Nibur
Kim Norton
Lea Ann Nunn
Keiron O’Connell
Ruthie Passamaneck
Emily Podgursky
Hannah Reikes
Sophie Reskin
Daniela Reuter
David Rosenberg
Lora Rosenberg
Jordan Roth
Adam Rowe
Evan Rowe
Susan Rudy
Michael Russman
Nikki Russman
Josh Sabes
Michael Salamon
Lara Schiller
Dafna Schurr
Ari Schwartz
Julie Segal
Lisa Shapiro
Amy Shir
Bob Shircliff
Jacob Shpilberg
Andy Snipes
Nancy Snow
Donald Stern
Dan Streit
Leni Sweet
Gerald Temes
Maura Temes
Judy Freundlich Tiell
Evelyn Lou Topcik
Jennifer Tuvlin
Elana Wagner
Talia Wagner
Rebecca Waller
Hunter Weinberg
Scott Weinberg
Aaron Wolff
Jonathan Wolff
Eliza Zell
Wesley Ziege

The Prize Donors

Baxter Avenue Theatres
Carmichael’s Bookstore
Comedy Caravan
Derby Dinner Playhouse
Hawthorne Suites
Jewish Community Center
Kentucky Center for the Arts
K-Style Company LLC
Meridian Café
Paul’s Fruit Market
T.G.I. Friday’s
The Temple Gift Shop
Urban Active
Village 8 Theatres

The Food Donors

Diversified Distribution
Krispy Kreme
Paul’s Fruit Market
Ruthie’s Delights
Stevens & Stevens

Special thanks to:

Ted Wirth for donating the photography.
Kim Norton for donating the decorations.

Leave a Reply