Rothstein to receive Louis D. Brandeis Privacy Award

Rothstein to receive Louis D. Brandeis Privacy Award

Patient Privacy Rights, the nation’s leading health privacy advocacy organization, will award its annual Louis D. Brandeis Privacy Award to Mark A. Rothstein on June 5 in Washington, DC.

Patient Privacy Rights established the award in 2012 to recognize significant intellectual, cultural, legal, scholarly, and technical contributions to the field of health information privacy. The award is given with the approval of the Brandeis family, and it will be awarded in conjunction with the Third International Summit on the Future of Health Privacy to be held at the Georgetown University Law Center.

Professor Rothstein holds the Herbert F. Boehl Chair of Law and Medicine at the University of Louisville School of Medicine, and he also teaches at the Brandeis School of Law of the University of Louisville.

He indicated why the award is especially meaningful to him. “Brandeis  was born in Louisville, and his influence still permeates the city where I live and the university where I work. I am deeply honored to receive an award named after the person whose name is synonymous with privacy.”

The other 2013 recipient of the Brandeis Privacy Award is Peter Hustinx of the Netherlands, who is data protections supervisor for the the European Union. The 2012 recipients were Congressman Joe Barton of Texas, Congressman Ed Markey of Massachusetts, and the late Professor Alan Westin of Columbia University.

Leave a Reply