NCJW Final Meeting and Installation Luncheon

[by Phyllis Shaikun]

The National Council of Jewish Women, Louisville Section, held its closing meeting and installation luncheon on Wednesday, June 1, at the Standard Country Club. Cantor Sharon Hordes started the proceedings by chanting the late Debbie Friedman’s beautiful blessing, Tachat Canfei, (Under the Wings of Shechina).

Leni Sweet, who is completing a two-year term as president, gave a brief overview of the section’s activities over the past year. The Community Service Department has kept the chapter aware of activities conducted by NCJW-grant recipient agencies including the California Area Daycare Center, which has played an essential role in ensuring that children are well cared-for and parents are able to go to work to support them. Section members also organized a holiday party for children at the daycare.

The Section’s support of Community Coordinated Childcare provides early intervention services. Grants also are made to Jewish Family & Career Services to help the elderly obtain transportation, prescription medications and emergency services and to Chavurat Shalom, ElderServe Inc., Maryhurst and the Jewish Resource Center. The Section’s student loan fund recently helped 14 students receive college educations, and the Section’s Planning and Development Committee continues to evaluate agencies and organizations in need of assistance.

Sweet thanked members of her leadership team for their support of programs, for ensuring that the NCJW office runs smoothly, for keeping track of the treasury and budget, for creating informative bulletins, for being sure The Nearly New Shop and Shopping Spree continue to be major sources of funding for the Section, for maintaining support through tribute funds and for working on membership recruitment. She closed by saying it has been her “greatest honor and privilege to lead and work with these dynamic, professional and talented women.”

Nominating Committee Chair Martha Weinberg announced the slate of officers for 2011-2013 who were subsequently installed by Ellen Rosenbloom, a past president. They include: President, Mindy Klein; Vice Presidents, Sue Paul (Administration), Amy Lapinski (Community Service); Betsy Prussian, Karen Kohn, Marlene Schaffer (Membership); Stuart Goldberg (Nearly New Shop); Beth Salamon (Public Affairs); Madeline Abramson (Secretary); Barbara Pass (Treasurer); Ellen Shapira (Assistant Secretary); and Meryl Kasdan, (Financial Secretary).

Also installed were directors for 2011-2013: Sharon Berger, Shelley Meyers; Robin Miller; Nikki Russman, Erin Scianimanico; Judy Shapira and Diane Weinberg.


Leave a Reply