JCL’s Annual Meeting – POSTPONED

The JCL Annual Meeting was postponed due to the power outages across Louisville. Please watch for information on our rescheduled event.

It’s Annual Meeting time at the JCL. On Sunday, August 14 at 10 a.m. Come join your fellow community members for brunch, meet your current and nominated board members, recognize winners of this year’s awards and learn about recent happenings at the JCL. If you haven’t been in to see the building and campus updates completed by the GE Volunteers on June 24, this is your chance.


“We’ve accomplished a great deal this year,” said Dr. Karen Abrams, chair of the JCL Governance Committee. “With a broad range of programs and services available to the community, the Jewish Community Center campus, Louisville’s Central Jewish address, has been a hive of activity.”  Both Board Chair David Klein, and President & CEO Stu Silberman, will be providing updates on the JCL.

This year’s Ottenheimer Award goes to Wayside Christian Mission Reverend Timothy Moseley and his wife, Nina.  Other honorees include: Joseph J. Kaplan Young Leadership Award winner Amy Ryan; Lewis W. Cole Memorial Young Leadership Award winner David Kaplan; Julie E. Linker Community Relations Young Leadership Award winner Laurence Nibur; Arthur S. Kling Award winner Ed Goldberg; Elsie P. Judah Award winner Rosemary O’Leary and the Ronald and Marie Abrams Volunteer of the Year Award winner Emily Podgursky.

Our Teen award winners include Ellen Faye Garmon Award winner Klaire Spielberg; Stacy Marks Nisenbaum Award winner Chelsea Rosenberg; Stuart Pressma Student Leadership Award winners Sarah Ensign, Molly Fine, Hayley Grossman and Talia Wagner, and Joseph Fink Award winner Nathan Spielberg.

Abrams will also present this year’s Board Slate nominated for three year terms: Bruce Blue, Myrle Davis, Harry Geller, Lance Gilbert, Nathan Goldman, Doug Gordon, Jay Klempner, Shannon Levine, Amy Ryan and Michael Shaikun and the Officers: Board Chair David Klein; Vice Board Chairs Joe Hertzman, David Kaplan and Jay Klempner; Secretary Karen Abrams and Treasurer Laurence Nibur.

Babysitting will be available in the J-Play room across from the Health and Wellness entrance. For reservations and information about the Annual Meeting, and to schedule your child for babysitting, please call Paula at 451-8840 or email pdeweese@jewishlouisville.org by August 8.

Leave a Reply