fbpx

JCL Implements New Programming Model

The Jewish Community of Louisville is making changes in the way it organizes its programming to make it easier for the community to get information about the wide variety of programming it offers as well as programs and services available at all of Louisville’s Jewish agencies and congregations.

The JCL Program Steering Committee, chaired by Karen Abrams, will work with committees and staff in six age-specific categories, each of which will offer community members easy access to information about existing programs, a way to share new ideas and opportunities to volunteer. She is working with JCL staff members Sara Klein Wagner, 618-5308 or swagner@jewishlouisville.org, and Andrea Melendez, 238-2725 or amelendez@jewishlouisville.org.

 

Early Childhood
Shannon Rothschild and Hilary Pohn are co-chairs of the Early Childhood Committee, and they are working with Alison Schwartz, 618-5325 or aschwartz@jewishlouisville.org, and Becky McKiernan, 238-2748 or bmckiernan@jewishlouisville.org. They are the point people for programming for children from birth through age 4, including enrichment classes, The PJ Library, Mothers Circle, play groups, Mommy & Me, J-Care, J-Tots, J-Play, Shalom Baby and other age-appropriate programs.

Children
Karen Kohn is chair of the Children’s Committee, and she is working with Julie Hollander, 238-2708 or jhollander@jewishlouisville.org. They are the point people for programming for children in kindergarten through fifth grade, including PJ Plus, summer camp, enrichment camp, after school camp, School’s Out programs, Family Gym Time, Saturday Night @ the J and other age-appropriate programs.

Teens
Glenn Levine is chair and Terry Cohen is vice chair of the Teen Committee, and they are working with Justin Sadle, 238-2778 or jsadle@jewishlouisville.org, and David Siskin, 238-2701 or dsiskin@jewishlouisville.org. They are the point people for programming for middle and high schoolers, including The Teen Connection, Maccabi, sports, Cotillion, B’nai Tzedek, BBYO, community service, Kesher Kentucky, Israel trips, March of the Living and other age-appropriate programs.

YAD
Tzivia Levin, 618-5308 or tlevin@jewishlouisville.org, is the staff person for the YAD (Young Adult Division). Volunteer chairs for this committee have not yet been announced. She is the point person for programming for young adults, including the JCL Annual Campaign, the Ben Gurion Society, social events, Young Leadership Development, LEADS, Young Professionals, birthright israel, birthright next, outreach to newcomers and more.

Adult Outreach
Salli Coleman is working with Kim Hales, 238-2777 or khales@jewishlouisville.org, to help develop new programming for adults, specifically focusing on social programming and outreach. The JCL currently offers some programming for adults, including cultural arts and learning opportunities, but the organization recognizes a need for additional creative programming for this age group.

Seniors
Angeline Golden is chair of the Seniors Committee, and she is working with Slava Nedelin, 238-2743 or snedelin@jewishlouisville.org, and Diane Sadle, 238-2749. They will be looking for opportunities to reach out to more of the community through senior adult programming. Current programming includes the kosher nutrition program, kosher meal home delivery, High Times, the Senior Adult Chorus, Jewish Current Events, swimnastics, arts and crafts and more.

There are many other volunteers working on JCL committees dealing with specific programs, and it is the combined efforts of all these volunteers and many staff members that are shaping our future. More volunteers are needed. If you have an area of interest and can help with a program or a committee or have an idea to share, please contact one of the point people above.

Leave a Reply