JCL Annual Meeting Rescheduled after Storm Disrupted Power and Felled Trees

Meeting Will Be September 26, 7 p.m. at the JCC

The Jewish Community of Louisville’s 2011 Annual Meeting was originally scheduled in August, but a major storm in Louisville that Sunday downed many power lines, making travel dangerous and knocking out power in significant areas of the city, including at the Jewish Community Center. That forced the JCL to postpone the meeting.

The JCL Annual Meeting has been rescheduled for Monday, September 26, at 7 p.m. at the Jewish Community Center. Many awards will be given out and JCL Board members and officers will be elected for the 2011-12 fiscal year. Desserts will be served following the meeting.

At that time, the JCL will honor the Rev. Tim and Nina Moseley for their dedicated service to Louisville through their work at Wayside Christian Mission with the Blanche B. Ottenheimer Award. Amy Ryan will receive the Joseph J. Kaplan Young Leadership Award; David Kaplan, the Lewis W. Cole Memorial Young Leadership Award; and Laurence Nibur, the Julie E. Linker Community Relations Young Leadership Award.

The Arthur S. Kling Award will go to Ed Goldberg; the Elsie P. Judah Award to Rosemary O’Leary and the Ronald and Marie Abrams Volunteer of the Year Award to Emily Podgursky.

Teen award winners include Ellen Faye Garmon Award winner Klaire Spielberg; Stacy Marks Nisenbaum Award winner Chelsea Rosenberg; Stuart Pressma Student Leadership Award winners Sarah Ensign, Molly Fine, Hayley Grossman, & Talia Wagner, and Joseph Fink Award winner Nathan Spielberg.

The Pressma Award winners are profiled in this issue of Community. All other award winners have been featured in past issues, and their profiles can be found online.

JCL Board members for the 2011-12 fiscal year will also be elected at the meeting. The Board slate includes those nominated for three year terms: Bruce Blue, Myrle Davis, Harry Geller, Lance Gilbert, Nathan Goldman, Doug Gordon, Shannon Levine, Amy Ryan and Michael Shaikun, and the Officers: Board Chair David Klein; Vice Board Chairs Joe Hertzman, David Kaplan and Jay Klempner; Secretary Karen Abrams and Treasurer Laurence Nibur.

Babysitting will be available in the J-Play room across from the Health and Wellness entrance. For reservations and information about the Annual Meeting, and to schedule your child for babysitting, please call Paula at 451-8840 or email pdeweese@jewishlouisville.org by September 19.

Leave a Reply